top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmily Sullivan

On Not Waiting to Be Perfect

I started making my website FIVE YEARS AGO, in the summer of 2016.


I was still in my twenties.


Barack Obama was still president.


You get the idea.


I never published it; was always waiting for that perfect recording, the perfect color scheme, the headshot where I'm ten pounds thinner, etc. etc.


Now I'm finally posting it because I'm done being yoked to perfectionism and all its attendant sorrows. I'm not waiting to be perfect for my life to begin, not anymore.


So even though the perfectionist in me wants this to be about 500 words longer and say something profound, the new me says F*CK IT. Get the website published, start the blog, just DO it, stop acting out of fear.


You're welcome to join me as I come here weekly to work on the exposure therapy of a recovering perfectionist airing her radical vulnerability for all to see. I think it's the only prescription for someone who wants to actually CREATE and not be stuck in the hamster wheel anymore.


Either way, I'll be here.


Emily Joy



0 views0 comments
bottom of page